Becoming an Advocate

Part I : What is an advocate? An advocate is a person who speaks or writes in support or defense of another person or cause. There are two distinct moods of advocacy. The first is an aggressive advocate, someone who is impatient and assertive while engaging in difficult conversations in order to get desired results. The second is a style that is more calm and collected. It is someone who takes charge in finding the facts and understands the whole process. It is the person who does the hard work to have a better understanding. With this being said there are also three different types of advocacy. There is a religious based, a theory based, and a historical based advocate. Religous based is an advocate who is promoting a religion and bases all of their studies and work on religion. Theory based is an advocate who shows ideaology and bases their works on theories. Lastly, there is and advocate who bases their work on historical events of the past.

Part II:  As in active citizen of my hometown, I belong to several communities. I am from Carteret County, Morehead City. Although it is a small place, there are many opportunities to get involved. One of the best places to start is in Church. I belong to the First United Methodist Church on Bridges st. Here I can get involved in Sunday School,volunteer at the nursery, and Acolite during church services. Another great place to get involved is School. I attended West Carteret High School, where I was an active member of the Key Club, Future Farmers of America, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and not only Captain of the womens soccer and basketball team but a team member in track and cross country as well. Here I learned to become part of team, I learned leadership skills and I was also introduced to many great friends and people in my community. Another great community I was apart of, was the Newport Humane Society. I volunteered every weekend and helped raise money and supplies for the shelter. The values and goals of these different types of communities all strive for the same result which is friendship, leadership, and great moral character. Each community had texts and guidelines of rules and regulations, for instance, church has the Holy Bible, school has the student handbook and text books for different coarses, and the shelter had brochures and websites to help funding and volunteering. I am very passionate about all of the communities I am involved in, not only because I loved meeting new people, but because of the great feeling it gave me inside. A common issue that all of these communities have are money. Everything costs money and the way our economy is running, there is not enought money to circulate due to strict government policies. In each of these communities there is always a little advocacy that can stir up certain situations. For example, in church some people may not believe the same as you, therefore we have discussion and debate groups to help understand others’ views. In school, there are some advocates who stir trouble with race, religion, style, and emotions. There are positive advocates like our principals who resolve all of these issues by compromising and laying down the rules. Advocacy is everywhere in our communities and whether they are positive or negative figures, we all come together to create what we call home.

LINKS:

http://www.cchsshelter.com/

http://www.wcpatriots.com/

This entry was posted in Community-based Research and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Becoming an Advocate

  1. johnsonbl12 says:

    Tristan, I really enjoyed reading your viewpoint of advocacy. One of the things I really liked in your post was the two styles of advocacy you pointed out. There are definitely many different styles that people can gravitate towards while advocating a subject but there is no doubt that the two distinct forms of advocacy that you pointed out are the most common. What style do you like to take when you are advocating something? I also enjoyed reading about your community. It sound like you were really involved! If there’s one thing that I’ve learned over the years, it is that no matter what community you reside in, there are multiple ways to get involved. I think that it is great that you supported the Newport Humane Society.I always think it is great to see people openly trying to make a difference in the world, whether it’s through helping animals or humans!

  2. ecugirl123 says:

    In your “becoming an advocate” essay, I like your definition of an advocate and the two types you described! It was very detailed and easy for anyone to understand. I am curious though which type do you find yourself gravitate toward most? As for part two, I really enjoyed reading about all the activities you were a part of in high school and in your hometown. I also was a part of many clubs and sports at my high school so I can relate when you mention money is a big issue. Something different in your essay that not many people can say they are a part of is your role at the humane society. I find it touching and it proves you have a very caring heart. While reading and critiquing your essay, I seemed to find your last sentence most powerful. It pulled the whole essay together and those elements rather issues or benefits really do create a strong home.

  3. I agree with the comment above that the last sentence in your post is powerful. The two sentences before that, though, are troubling to me. First of all, I’m not sure I understand what you mean about stirring trouble with race, religion, style, and emotions, and I’m intrigued by your statement that laying down the law is an example of positive advocacy. I’d like you to explain those ideas a bit more and maybe give some examples because it seems that you might be saying that consensus is the key to strong communities. I don’t believe that’s true…

Leave a Reply

