Annotative Bibliographies (Secondary Sources)

Secondary Source #1

“Soldiers and Veterans .” Rural Assistance Center. Health and Human Services Information, 29 Aug. 2012. Web. 22 Sept. 2012.

This article, “Soldier and Veterans”, reviews most of the common questions asked about Veterans. It talks about Veterans before and after war as well as any additional information along the way. Questions from how many veterans are in the US, to where do most Veterans live, are asked on this site. This article is like a test.  The viewer’s ask questions while the Rural Health Services Committee answers those questions.

This a useful source because I needed to gather statistics for my paper and this site provided many. It was not one of my favorite sources because it was bland and straight to the point. It was an easy to read article with tons of reliable information. The information from this article was objective information because it was mostly made up of statistics. The goal of this article is to relay common questions asked about Veterans, which it did.

This source was helpful to me because it was an easy to read, informational site. It helped me provide information about Veterans that I could not find anywhere else. I can use this source in my research project for when my viewers and peers ask questions. I can look up the question on the site and be able to give correct feedback. This source has helped me to further understand just how many Veterans there are and to answer many of my own questions.

Secondary Source #2

“Rules and Regulations.” Internal Revenue Service. Veteran’s Organization, 2012. Web. 23 Sept. 2012.

This next source was a document from the IRS. The main goal of this document was to relay the most accurate information about the history of Veterans. It gave me a reliable definition of a Veteran. It also portrays information about Veteran’s organizations and the requirements that must be followed to be a part of the organizations. Other topics that were covered were about trusts and foundations for Veterans.

This was a useful source because it also helped me answer my own questions about how we help our Veterans. It is an easy reading document with bullets under bolded topics. The format of this document helped me find what I was looking for without having to scramble all over the place. This is an objective piece because it is all regulated by the government with all facts.

This document helped me discuss how we can help our Veterans and how they can help themselves. It is also a guideline of how to become a part of an organization and some basic information about Veterans. I used this source to help me understand rules and guidelines on how to become part of a Veteran’s organization. The guidelines are pretty strict, but they provide help and service to Veterans who qualify.

Secondary Source #3

Haas, Werner. “The Effect of the Vietnam War on Veterans.” Yahoo Voices. N.p., 5 May 2008. Web. 23 Sept. 2012.

This source, The Effect of the Vietnam War on Veterans, was a great source. Its main arguments were the health concerns and care provided to the Vietnam Vets. Topics such as the chemicals used in the war, compensation for diseases and cancers, Health Care, and some statistics were all covered. It was mainly about how the government took away rights to sue from the Veterans. They were introduced to Agent Orange and PTSD and were not allowed to claim money from pesticide companies.

This source was very resourceful in researching my paper. It was my second favorite source because it held so much information about the chemical effects on the Vets as well as the mental effects. This information is reliable and helped me grasp a better concept on how the Veterans felt about now receiving compensation. It is an objective source because all are facts straight from the people from that era.

This was an extremely helpful source in my researching.  Not only did I learn about illnesses, I learned how they got them, what caused them, and how the Vets were helped. I read that cancer was a big issue after the war and I had no idea that our own government poured millions of gallons of a toxic pesticide without researching the effects on humans. It really opened my eyes and showed me how much society has changed scientifically.

Secondary Source #4

“Veterans’ Diseases Associated with Agent Orange.” Department of Veterans Affairs. Public Health, 2 Oct. 2012. Web. 3 Oct. 2012.

This next source, Veterans’ Diseases Associated with Agent Orange, talked mostly about the different illnesses cause by the toxic chemical Agent Orange (AO).  This article gives the viewers a list of diseases that are proven to be caused from AO. The information was study by doctors all over the world and is a reliable source.

This source showed me all of the risks of Agent Orange. It listed all the side effects, body defects, and illnesses related to the chemical reaction. It even supplied information on how to gain compensation and who was eligible. The article is an objective piece because of the entire doctor’s feedback on the given information. It was a great source for me when I listed diseases and problems caused by the Vietnam War.

This was third on my list for the best resources. It was informational and easy to read and understand. It helped me to search deeper than just the effects on the Veterans, to a lot of information about the generations after them. I learned a lot from this piece that I would not have learned if I was not given the assignment. I gained a lot of personal knowledge and opinions on the war and Agent Orange.

Secondary Source #5

“The Story of Agent Orange.” The US Veteran Dispatch. Ed. Ted Sampley. N.p., 2 Oct. 2012. Web. 5 Oct. 2012.

Like the source before, The Veteran’s Dispatch, gave me more information about Agent Orange. Not only did it provide proof from experimentation, it also talked about how the US government contained the chemical and why it was so toxic. This piece also talks about how the chemical affected the plants with cancers and how the chemical dioxin was chosen for the pesticide.

It was very resourceful and reliable because it is a US Sergeant Staff report. It was my favorite resource because it gave the whole truth about Agent Orange and how the government tried to cover up their mistakes. It was very catchy and I only wanted to read more once I started. It also stated that scientists did know the effect it would have on humans. It was heart crushing to read something that could have been prevented if procedures were taken properly.

This was an extremely helpful source and it helped shape the argument of how bad Agent Orange really was. I used this source to site direct information that I put in my paper. I thought it was a very interesting piece and it is comforting to know that the government will own up to their mistakes eventually.  I will use this resource in the future for my next paper.

This entry was posted in Community-based Research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Annotative Bibliographies (Secondary Sources)

  1. Hi, Tristan. In your AB revision, please follow the form from the Purdue OWL website. You’ll need a citation (in MLA format), a summary that uses author+rhetorically accurate verb and include main ideas and specific key points, an assessment that argues for the reliability and credibility of the source (look at date, publisher of information, author credibility/ expertise, type of evidence used, etc.), and a reflection that give concrete ways this source has impacted your thinking and your emerging research project.
    Best,
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

